Pancakes

A friend recently declared that pancakes were only for Pancake Day (Shrove Tuesday). Nonsense. I make pancakes ALL THE TIME.

Now some people call this type of pancake a “crepe”. I don’t particularly care, I just know they’re frickin’ delicious!

Kimberly's Crepes
Here are some I made earlier.

If you want to convert these measurements to cups then click here for a converter calculator.

Ingredients:

  • 150g plain flour
  • 325ml milk
  • 1 large egg
  • Some unsalted butter for greasing the pan

Method:

  1. Put the flour, milk and egg in a bowl and whisk up with an electric hand mixer. Obviously you can also do this by hand or you can use a blender if you have one.
  2. I cannot abide lumps. So I pour the amalgamated mixture into a jug through a sieve. If you rinse the sieve immediately it won’t set like concrete.
  3. Melt a knob of butter into a large frying pan, or proper crepe pan if you’re very posh.
  4. This is the bit where I speak to you like you’re a 5 year old, telling you how much to pour and how long to cook it for and to be careful not to burn yourself on the pan. Yeah, I’m not going to do that. I’m sure you can decide how big a pancake you want and how golden you’d like it. If you’re confident you can flip them but I’m never brave enough.
  5. I tend to get 6-8 crepe-style pancakes out of this. Stack ’em up and drench in freshly squeezed lemon juice and sprinkle on some granulated sugar. Nothing else will do. My blog, my rules.

I have been using this recipe for ages. I adapted it slightly from a Nigella one. If you trust her more than me, and WHY WOULDN’T YOU, then you can read it here

Click here for my post about gluten free pancakes!

One thought on “Pancakes

Leave a Reply

