Clarisonic

clarisonic-mia-pastels
Pretty pastels!

The Clarisonic Cleansing System was invented by the people that created the Sonicare toothbrush. To be fair it does look like a large toothbrush. Apparently the sonic pulse moves the brush head bristles 300 time per second. If it does, I can’t tell. This may look like a toothbrush but it doesn’t oscillate like one. In practise it vibrates gently whilst making a pulsey Star Trek type noise as you move it around your face in a circular motion. Which is FINE, I just don’t want you thinking this is an Oral B for your blackheads.

not a clarisonic
This is clearly not a good idea.

The Clarisonic boasts a host of benefits:

  • Clears congested skin
  • Reduces pore size
  • Evens skin tone
  • Removes make up 6 times better than traditional methods

I have the Clarisonic Mia (I think) which isn’t the latest one. Mine was a present from my mother in-law a couple of years ago and was about £99 on Amazon at the time. It came with its own gentle cleansing gel which is very nice but I prefer to use it with Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser.

You’re supposed to change the brush heads every few months. Replacements are readily available to buy from Amazon. Although beware cheap imitations! I’ve heard they aren’t impregnated with the antibacterial stuff which just sounds gross.

clarisonic lady
This lady looks very happy using it.

When I use mine as per the instructions it makes  big difference to my skin. But as I’ve said in previous posts I am a bit lackadaisical about skin care. I go through phases. When I remember and make an effort my skin glows. But sometimes I just FORGET.

There are plenty of copycats on the market. A lot of them are suspiciously cheap and friends that have tried them haven’t given them glowing reviews. The exception has been Clinique’s Sonic Brush, which at the time of writing this, is on offer at Boots. I haven’t tried it but I’ve heard good things!

CLINIQUE sonic brush
There’s no getting away from the fact that it looks like a sex toy.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

