Christmas Movies

When I asked my husband what his favourite Christmas movie was he replied without missing a beat…”Die Hard”.

Hmm… that wasn’t really the vibe I was going for. Mind you, I would much rather watch John Maclean shoot up an office building than sit through It’s A Wonderful Life. I realise that’s practically heresy. It’s heart warming and everything but after a while I get a bit bored. Same goes for Miracle on 34th Street. I feel like I should love it but…

The other day my daughter subjected me to the delights of Nativity 3: Dude, Where’s My Donkey? It was an abomination. I will never get that time back.

So here are my recommendations for telly time over the festive season.

Here goes…

Gremlins, 1984 Still brilliant, if rather dated. I will always want a Gizmo.

gremlins-gizmo
Gremlins

Die Hard, 1989 Still super entertainment and nobody can resist cheering “Yippee-ki-yay motherf**ker!”

die hard
Die Hard

Elf, 2003 Resistance is futile. Buddy The Elf will steal your heart.

ELF gif
ELF

Nativity, 2009 The original is hilarious and heart warming. Not just for kids! I heart Mr Poppy.

my poppy
Nativity!

Scrooged, 1988 Bill Murray at his best as far as I’m concerned (except for Ghostbusters!) A retelling of Scrooge but with shoulder pads and lots of hairspray.

scrooged
Scrooged

Prep & Landing, 2009 Wayne, a member of Santa’s Prep & Landing division, has to show his new partner the ropes. Things don’t go to plan! A real gem!

Prepandlanding
Prep & Landing

The Nightmare Before Christmas, 1994 A Christmas tale with a Tim Burton bite! The inhabitants of Halloween Town hijack Christmas! Brilliant songs and darkly funny. Could be a bit scary for little ones though.

jack skellington
The Nightmare Before Christmas

Love Actually, 2003 This film probably divides people more than any other on this list. I have a friend that calls this movie “Shit, Actually”. It has a cast of thousands and is both feelgood and heartbreaking. Personally, I love anything Richard Curtis although there is one scene I simply can’t watch.

love_actually
Love, Actually

A Charlie Brown Christmas, 1965 For my sister in-law and I, Christmas simply isn’t Christmas without Charlie Brown. The soundtrack alone makes me feel festive! I watch it every year without fail. Love, love, love.

charlie brown
A Charlie Brown Christmas

The Muppet Christmas Carol, 1992 Michael Caine joins Kermit and Co. for a retelling of Scrooge the likes of which you’ve never seen!

muppets
The Muppet Christmas Carol

Santa Claus The Movie, 1985 This was a favourite of mine as a child. The special effects are very dated now but I am still hugely sentimental about this film. Plus Dudley Moore plays an elf. Priceless.

dudley moore
Santa Claus The Movie

Arthur Christmas, 2011 This movie wins Best Newcomer for me. A Christmas movie for the kids of the noughties with old school charm. Arthur Christmas will make you feel all fuzzy inside.

arthur christmas
Arthur Christmas

The Small One, 1978 A little boy has to find his beloved donkey a good home. My sisters and I sob at the end EVERY TIME. The kids look at us like we’re crazy.

Small One
The Small One *sobs*

How The Grinch Stole Christmas, 1966 I’m talking about the animated TV Special. None of that Jim Carrey rubbish. The classic Dr Seuss tale.

how-the-grinch-stole-christmas2
How The Grinch Stole Christmas

Home Alone, 1990 Like Nativity, the sequels are atrocious but the original was brilliant. Kevin is home alone over the Christmas holidays and when two local burglars start scoping out his house he takes matters into his own hands! Perfect for kids who love physical comedy.

 

home alone
Home Alone

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, 1989 This movie is silly. And dated. But oh my God I just LOVE it. Clark Griswold just wants his family to have the perfect Christmas…

national-lampoon-christmas-vacation-still
National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

I realise I’ve left loads off the list. I excluded The Great Escape because while I realise it’s on TV every Christmas (in the UK) it isn’t actually a Christmas movie. Is it?

Some people create their own Christmas movie traditions. If you make a habit of watching Hot Fuzz every Christmas soon it won’t be Christmas without it.

Plus, Hot Fuzz is ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT.

hot fuzz

 

Leave a Reply

