Hygge

At the moment I am reading a book all about Denmark. Don’t laugh, it’s brilliant. Except for the bit about them charging 180% new car tax. That’s just daylight robbery.

“Let’s move to Denmark!” I cheered to my husband. He’s used to this, I do it all the time. “Let’s move to Hawaii and we can live by the beach and spend our days swimming with sea turtles!”, “Let’s go and live in Kenya! I’ll start an elephant sanctuary and I can be barefoot every day!”, “Let’s go live in Paris! I’ll become chic by osmosis and we can practise our shrugging”. Ever the voice of reason my husband will bring me back down to Earth reminding me about Green Cards and visas and work permits and the fact that beach front property costs millions of dollars and that I don’t really know anything about elephants.

“Denmark sounds GREAT. Let’s go! It’ll be like Heidi!”

“That’s Switzerland”

Oh. Yeah.

Well, that aside I have decided that I’m now in love with all things Danish. And I’m not the only one. According to virtually every poll and survey going, Denmark is ranked as the happiest country in the world. And it’s not hard to see why. If you lose your job in Denmark the state will pay you 80% of your income for 18 months. All education is free, yes that includes university. Childcare is heavily subsidised. Depending on your household income you pay between nothing and up to 25% of the bill. The government pays the rest. The Danish health care system is funded by income tax so it’s free to all Danish and EU citizens. If you’re an ex-pat the government will provide you with twice weekly Danish lessons free of charge.

I reckon if we all get packing now we’ll beat the rush.

My favourite Danish thing (besides Lego) is something called hygge. Hygge is a pastime I can definitely get behind. It’s what all Danes do in the long, dark Winter months. No, not THAT. It’s essentially creating a warm, inviting atmosphere in your home. Hygge is taking pleasure in the ordinary, every day things and enjoying your dwelling with family and friends. It’s all about candlelight and food and being cosy.

hygge
These two are getting hygge with it!

And here’s the best bit. I do this already! I’D BLEND RIGHT IN.

PLUS I’ve seen every series of The Bridge. So I reckon I’m half way there.

The book I’m reading is The Year of Living Danishly by Helen Russell. It’s just my kind of book. An anecdote-filled memoir that’s also full of facts and figures. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve lived in other countries but I’m always interested in other people’s views of living somewhere other than home. I truly find this kind of thing really really interesting. Nyd dig selv!

living danishly

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

