Pencil it in…

Now let’s be clear about this. I bought my 2016 calendar in October. So if you don’t have yours yet then WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN DOING? Despite the crushing judgement from me please do not despair. There’s still time.

Anyone who knows me knows that I take my calendar very seriously. For one thing I’m the only person who is allowed to write on it. This may sound anally retentive and that’s because I AM. My daughter changes her plans like the weather so all her additions would just be continuous crossings out and my husband has the illegible left handed scrawl of a serial killer. Neither of these scenarios works with my OCD aesthetic.

Also the calendar is really only for show. Like a lot of families out there we all have smartphones and have synced up our digital diaries. When I add something to the calendar on my phone both my husband and daughter get an alert and it’s automatically added to theirs. And when you need to change something, that updates automatically too. No messy crossing out. My mother would say this sort of thing is “very space age”.

But despite my love of the virtual filofax I can’t quite let go of the calendar completely. What if I drop my phone down the loo? You need a back up. Plus I think they’re pretty.

So here are some of my top picks.

For a few years I went through a phase of baking and decorating scores and scores of cupcakes. I’m not much of a cook but I can knock up a nice looking cupcake with relative ease so it kind of became my thing for a bit. My current calendar is the one directly below.

hello cupcake calendar 2016
Hello, Cupcake Calendar 2016 Amazon Approx £10

We had loads of Sandra Boynton books for my daughter when she was very small so I’m somewhat sentimental about her illustrations. This 17-month “Mom” calendar comes with a magnetic phone list for the fridge and gazillions of stickers. I love stickers!

sandra boynton 2016 calendar
Sandra Boynton 2016 Calendar Amazon Approx £10

Kikki K stuff is all gorgeous and their wall calendar (£10) is no exception. Very pretty.

Paperchase’s Every Day’s A Holiday calendar is a bit different and a great gift for teens. 14th May might be my favourite… Dance Like A Chicken Day!

holiday calendar
Every Day’s A Holiday 2016 Calendar Paperchase £10

I’m a big fan of Plan-It calendars. They have a very handy pocket so you can store tickets, school slips, takeaway menus etc. It has a strong magnetic strip so you can hang it on the fridge but I tended to overfill the pocket which made it too heavy so I always just hung it on the wall. Also comes with STICKERS. This calendar is selling for £50 on Amazon. I suspect this is because it’s sold out everywhere. That’s what happens when you leave it until February.

plan it calendar 2016
Plan-It Family Calendar 2016

Obviously there are trillions of calendars to choose from and a lot are now half price. Beautiful photography, beaches, mountains, that kind of thing. Maybe you’re partial to cutesy animals? Piglets in wellies, kittens in tutus. What about your favourite sports team?

You can buy a calendar of pretty much anything you like.

jamie dornan 2016 calendar
I have no idea how this got here.
6 Comments Add yours

  1. davegore2005 says:

    we would be lost without ours, pride of place on the kitchen windowsill with a cool holder, although not up to your standard with synching the whole family

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Calendars need to live in the kitchen don’t they? 😊 Heart of the home and all that!

      Like

      1. davegore2005 says:

        until someone cleverer than me comes up with a better place

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

