Steps… 

Our diet was over before it really had a chance to begin. Just as we started I was poorly for over a week so my husband, who doesn’t really understand the concept of dieting (like AT ALL), was responsible for food shopping. He brought home things like pasta carbonara and clotted cream rice pudding. And so all our best intentions flew out of the carb-filled window.

But I have been making small steps back towards the well intentioned healthy life plan. I have stopped buying Diet Coke (the root of all evil if you listen to my father), switched back to all things decaf and stopped taking sugar in my tea. These sound like small inconsequential things but YOU’RE WRONG. No, it’s not a matter of opinion. You’re wrong. And I’ll tell you why.

I’m generally very well behaved.

  • I don’t do drugs. I have to have a really bad headache to take a paracetamol.
  • I don’t use bad language in front of children (well… hardly ever).
  • I don’t smoke.
  • I barely drink. And even then it’s usually watered down with orange juice or soda.
  • I don’t even drink coffee.

You can’t be good ALL THE TIME. Sometimes you need a vice. Something that you know isn’t necessarily good for you but also safe (i.e. not Class A drugs). So I had sugar in my tea even though I know I really shouldn’t and I drank too much Diet Coke, even though I know I really shouldn’t. They were my pick-me-ups. And now they’re gone.

Yes, go ahead and laugh. I’m suffering. And it’s taking all my willpower not to fill the void with cake.

Next up will be cutting down on bread, potatoes, pasta and cheese… then if I’m not completely suicidal I’ll be saying goodbye to chocolate.

But it’s one step at a time and right now I’m coming off my coke addiction… sorry that should be Diet Coke addiction. Wish me luck.

diet coke addict

One Comment Add yours

  1. stellabranch says:

    That list you’ve put up is similar to me…except I don’t do fizzy stuff. Everyone needs one vice…mine is homemade cake.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

