Pukka

I knew Pukka did teas, I didn’t know they did capsule/powder supplements. But they do and I must confess I am rather tempted.

It’s well known that supplements in powder form are more easily absorbed by the body than tablets. The crucial thing about supplements in capsule/tablet form is that you take them with food. If you don’t, chances are they will go in one end and come out the other. So all those people that barely eat when they diet but say “It’s OK, I’m on all sorts of vitamins and supplements!” are kidding themselves if they think they’re being healthy. Downing a handful of tablets with a cup of coffee is quite literally pointless, or so says our dietitian, Fiona.

pukka 0

The Pukka range is fairly extensive and the powders can be added to juices, smoothies, yoghurts or even sprinkled over breakfast cereal or fruit. I guess it all depends on how strong the taste is and how you wish to best disguise the flavour.

The product line is split into 7 categories; Digestif, Active, Cleansing, Everyday, Moods, Seasonal and Womakind. Obviously different supplements offer a different range of benefits.

I’m mostly interested in the Cleansing range which includes:

  • Clean Greens
  • Spirulina
  • Wheat Grass
  • Neem
  • Chlorella

I always despair of the lack of the vegetables and greens in my diet. I love veggies but my husband and daughter are veg averse which filters down to me. You could argue it’s laziness on my part but sometimes I just can’t be bothered to prep veggies that only I will eat on top of usually making two dinners. My daughter requires a gluten free diet but is also horrendously fussy. Food has not been her friend. It’s easy to judge so just believe me when I say I’m doing the best I can. She has improved a bit recently and now eats salad *boastful face*.

Those that read my blog regularly know I have been making some gradual changes since the start of the year…

  • No alcohol – this is pretty easy, I’m practically teetotal anyway.
  • I’ve gone decaf (again) – always a good idea. I sleep so much better.
  • I’ve given up Diet Coke and effectively all sodas. If I go out for a meal I’ll allow myself one as a treat but I’ve stopped buying them for home. As a result I’m drinking loads more water which can only be a good thing. My complexion has improved.
  • I’ve cut out sugar in my tea. This doesn’t sound like a big deal but was easily the hardest to do. I swear sugar is more addictive than crack! No more sugar crashes at 4pm. The headaches have vanished.
  • I’ve started eating breakfast. OK, so I don’t manage this every day but I’m getting there.
  • I’ve all but given up pasta. My daughter doesn’t eat pasta anyway but on the rare occasion I do make it for my husband and myself I’ll only eat gluten free.
  • I’ve cut down on bread. This sounds more impressive than it is as I wasn’t a big bread eater to begin with but I’ve consciously chosen something else when I’ve reached for bread. Will now probably move to gluten free.
  • I’ve stopped adding salt to my food. Except for potatoes. But even then I add only a pinch.

It’s not amazing but I believe taking baby steps and breaking bad habits gradually works for me. So I might just incorporate a supplement into the game now.

You can read about the entire range of Pukka Organic Supplements here 

Leave a Reply

