Whilst I was away… 

I haven’t been on WordPress for a bit… I won’t bore you with the details but there have been many hospital appointments. And vet appointments (because my life is just not busy enough!). And house stuff. And family stuff.

Let’s see, what have I missed? 

The Queen celebrated her 90th birthday. I know a lot of people hate the royal family but I must confess that I adore them. As a child I clearly remember sitting in the shade with a ratty water-warped copy of Hello! (my granny’s I think) poring over photos of Diana and Charles and thinking them the most glamourous people ever. Also they were always skiing and as a child who had no experience of snow or skis it all looked terribly exciting and exotic to me. Anyway, the Queen turned 90 and there was lots of fanfare and I lapped it up. 

She’s bionic.

The artist formerly known as Prince (and then known as Prince again) died. 2016 is now being touted as the year of the Celebrity Death by those who don’t get affected by the sadness of things and love to label stuff. 

Prince’s passport photo. His PASSPORT PHOTO.

David Bowie, Lemmy, Alan Rickman, Paul Daniels, Terry Wogan, Ronnie Corbett, Victoria Wood and now Prince. Obviously other people have died too as they do every day but it does seem like quite a long list of well known people in a such a short space of time.

It was also the 400th anniversary of William Shakespeare. The bard is easily our most celebrated playwright and the RSC commemorated this with a two hour special aired on the BBC.  

To be, or not to be.

Everyone was there… David Tennant, Benedict Cumberbatch, Tim Minchin, Sir Ian McKellen, Dame Judi Dench, Dame Helen Mirren… Prince Charles even joined them on stage for a funny moment or two. To watch it click here.

I thoroughly enjoyed the spectacle, mostly due to the fact that I was watching it an hour behind everyone else and was able to fast forward through any dreary songs or dull moments.  

Also… Game of Thrones returned to our screens this week! You just know it’s all going to kick off. *rubs hands together in delight* I cannot wait for that “Shame!” woman to get her comeuppance. You can watch the HBO trailer here

“I’m going to find that Shame woman and shove that bell …”
One thought on “Whilst I was away… 

Leave a Reply

