Cuddly Sleeper 

Are you a cuddly sleeper? Is your partner? I am NOT. I need my own space. My husband and I have a Kingsize bed and I’d still be keen to upgrade it to a SuperKing. He often jokes  “Kim would like a bed that’s so big you need a visa to visit the other side”. How do couples share a double? They must lie side by side like pencils. 

Am I odd to like my own space? I don’t like to feel confined (sleeping bags are my idea of hell). It doesn’t help that he’s a walking talking radiator. He’s always so hot. In Winter he’s been known to lie on my side of the bed for a few minutes to warm it up for me (as I’ve said before, he’s a very nice man!) But his limbs are heavy. If he has his arms draped over me I find myself pinned to the bed under the weight of them. No, sleeping entwined is not for me.

This is my dance space. This is your dance space. I don’t go into yours. You don’t come into mine.
It’s just as well that I am a very affectionate and demonstrative person whilst I’m awake as he might very well think I didn’t like him.

But recently there has been a shift. I have, in the last couple of weeks, found myself falling asleep cuddled up with my husband. The stars must be out of alignment for such a transgression to have occurred. What’s worse is my husband loves it. I have no idea how this came about. It would make sense if it was cold and the boiler was on the blink, or if we were freezing our arses off in a tent. Hah! A TENT. If you know anything about us you’ll know you’re about as likely to find us camping in a tent as performing naked hoola hooping on Britain’s Got Talent. Anyway, it’s very odd. I’ve told him not to get used to it. He looked very forlorn.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Haha – poor hubbie!! I wouldn’t be able to go to sleep without a bit of spooning. It’s different as the night progresses of course, when the hot flushes start …

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You weird cuddly sleepers 🙄…. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

