Make An Effort

I don’t really do make up. A quick eyelash curl and flash of mascara usually has to suffice. I don’t own concealer or bronzer or eyeshadow or blusher. I have a tinted moisturiser and if it’s a very special occasion I’ll wear foundation. Although it must be at least four years old so it may very well be separated and unusable by now. I own one lipstick which I’ve used maybe twice. I’ve been suffering from lipstick envy watching that contestant on The Great British Bake Off who wears a different shade of really vibrant lippy every episode. 

I fear what was considered to be Youthful and Fresh Faced in my 20’s will be regarded as Scares The Children in my 40’s. Perhaps it already has?! I’ve come to accept that I’m going to have to start Making An Effort. My make up bag needs an overhaul. 

I’m a big believer in that you get what you pay for when it comes to skincare and make up so I won’t be running out tomorrow to buy the entire Rimmel counter. Plus I like to deliberate and take my time selecting the right things. I know those Beauty Box subscription things are all the rage at the moment but I want to choose. I don’t need a cupboard full of beauty buys that we all know I’ll never use. 

Anyway, the journey starts here. All beauty recommendations welcome. If you use a particular product that rocks your world then please feel free leave a comment or tweet me! x

14 Comments Add yours

  1. davegore2005 says:

    scare the kids Kim?, the perfect nickname

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh yes. If I were a better person, I would make the effort to wear make up. It makes me look less tired.

    I like MAC’s loose face powder (although I bought Estée Lauder BB cream on the advice of The Spike, I almost never wear it). However, actual MAC shops make me cross – they’re badly lit and it’s hard to attract the attention of a sales assistant).

    I use NARS eye liner (not lights but not a pencil either) in purple – sounds ghastly but actually okay on me.

    Origins pinch your cheeks liquid blusher.

    Years ago I bought an eyeshadow compact in “chocolate” from Bobbi Brown, which is still in use.

    For lips, I like Clinique Black Honey / Zelens lip stain (no idea what it’s called, they sell it at Space NK).

    I never wear mascara – when I wear it, I tend to pull my eyelashes out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A better person?? 😆

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, a less lazy, bad tempered one. I have friends who always look well turned out. I do not.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s what I’m like!! 😆

        Like

    2. I’ve never worn Mac or Nars. Should investigate! I used to use Origins moisturisers and night creams but I’ve never tried their make up. I really like Bobbi Brown stuff, it always looks so natural. I use Stila lip glosses but I’m a bit clueless about lipsticks and stains and the like. Hahaha! You never wear mascara and I couldn’t be without it! My eyelashes are so fair I look like I don’t have any if I don’t wear mascara. Oh to have long dark eyelashes like my daughter!!

      Like

      1. I’m considering getting them dyed. My eyebrows are going white – I have been pretending that they are blonde but the white hairs are long and bushy so it’s getting obvious that they are not. So if I do that, I may as well get both my eyebrows and lashes dyed at the same time.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve dyed my eyelashes before and it makes a startling difference. Never done my eyebrows though. It’s making the time, the effort… ugh

        Like

  3. Sorry that was a bit of an essay.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. stellabranch says:

    As someone with slightly more -er- mature skin, I swear by the Shea butter range from L’Occitane. I use They’re Real mascara from Benefit too. I used to love a facefull of slap when I was younger but tend to be a bit less is more now unless I’m going out for a proper occasion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I use the They’re Real mascara from Benefit too! That or Lancôme. I love L’Occitane. I swear by their shower oil and the shea butter hand cream. :-))))

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Susannah says:

    I didn’t wear makeup for the longest time. I now wear foundation and a bit of lipstick. It makes me look much brighter ( less tired). I also have my eyelashes and brows dyed once a month. I bought Chanel foundation (by mistake, thought I was at the Clinique counter) and never looked back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Susannah! ☺️ I’ve just discovered BB cream – about 10yrs after everyone else! 😆 Going to return to dying my eyelashes I think. Makes such a difference! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

