Beauty Buys

Following on from my Make An Effort post I have started the process of updating my make up bag. Here are some of my new (and old!) favourites. 

First thing I bought was a BB cream. I realise I am extremely late to the party with this one but like I said, I don’t really wear anything. I had a Liz Earle tinted moisturiser but it did tend to leave my face a bit shiny. 

I opted for REN because I already use their moisturiser and know it doesn’t upset my skin, which is sensitive. 


Why why why didn’t I buy a BB cream before now?! Here’s what it says on the tube. It’s all true and totally 100% brilliant


I have fair freckly skin and anything heavy looks mask-like. This looks like I’m not wearing anything! LOVE it. 

Secondly, I realised I lied before. I said I didn’t have any blusher. Turns out I do! My sister gave me some Stila goodies for my birthday and in there was this lovely blusher that you blend. This colour is “pink glow”. It looks a bit purple here but I promise it isn’t. I haven’t used it yet.

I’ve bought the same mascara for the last couple of years. It’s BeneFit They’re Real. I replaced mine recently and it came with a free travel size which was a nice bonus. I’d prefer a softer bigger brush but better the devil you know… 

I like BeneFit products and this little compact is great. It really is a one stop shop for your brows. Tweezers, double ended brush, wax, powder and a mirror. 

As everybody knows your brows frame your face so defining them is paramount. A lot of blondes go to the trouble of tinting their eyebrows. I’m not blonde so I opted for the medium colourway (there are 6 shades) which makes my fairly fair eyebrows look a little darker and more groomed. The key is not to slick it on thick but just bit by bit. Plus it lasts ages

Next up is the old favourite, Yves Saint Laurent Touché Eclat. I’ve had this one for yonks but I don’t use it that much so it doesn’t need replacing just yet. It doesn’t seem to really dry out, unlike my mascaras, but if it does I just blend with a spot of moisturiser and voila! Technically it’s a highlighter but I blend it in under my eyes if I feel like I’m looking tired and it works a treat. 

I’ve never used concealer. They rarely match my skin tone and tend to be thick and cakey. PLUS why clog up your skin even more? Concealer on a spot will almost always make it worse. I’d rather let my skin breathe. 

Carmex lip balm has been around forever (1937 to be precise) and I think it’s one of those products that isn’t fancy but does exactly what it says on the tin. It’s somewhat medicinal but brilliant for dry or chapped lips (as is Blistex). And this tin has Snoopy on it so it’s a win win. 

That’s it for now. Go about your day and look fabulous. 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks great. I’ll check out the REN BB cream once I’ve used up my Estée Lauder one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m no BB expert but I really like this one!

      Like

  2. hels1968 says:

    Need to see the end result – selfie time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t talk nonsense.

      Like

Leave a Reply

