Egg Run

Last weekend I spent a good couple of hours on the National Trust website. 

We joined up last year with big plans to visit gazillions of places but then I went and got a job at the very start of the summer holidays which kind of scuppered it all. I also hurt my foot which certainly hasn’t helped. We did manage to visit Hughenden, Polesden Lacey and Claremont which did actually make our discounted family pass worth it so I have renewed this year. But this time I’m going to be super organised and make sure we use it more.

So this explains my Sunday afternoon perusing the NT website. I’ve even made a list of places I’d like to visit and stuck it on the fridge. Then I noticed they had a National Trust SHOP online. 

And that’s when I nearly bought an egg run. 

Much like this one.

It’s all rustic and farmhouse kitchenesque. And it reminds me of that wonderful contraption in the film Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. The one where the eggs kind of rolled down a helter skelter egg run and were then cracked directly into a hot frying pan. I wanted one of those desperately when I was a kid. And I didn’t even eat eggs then. 

But there are two problems with buying an egg run. Firstly there’s the issue of counter space and secondly is the rather obvious problem of… I keep my eggs in the fridge. 

And I got to thinking. Why do I keep my eggs in the fridge? It’s not like they store them in the fridge in the supermarkets. I take them from the shelf and then the moment I get home I put them in the fridge. I can’t think of anything else I do this with. So I googled… and now I know more about eggs than I did before.

For instance did you know that our British eggs would not be allowed to be sold in U.S supermarkets? This is because the Americans wash their eggs so our eggs don’t meet their safety standards. Hilariously American eggs aren’t allowed to be sold here because by washing the eggs, which are porous, goes against our healthy and safety regulations. It’s a sort of transatlantic egg stand off. 

Also did you know that a chicken urinates, defacates and lays eggs through the same… hole? They don’t have a vagina or an anus… they have a cloaca.

On second thoughts I think I’ll leave the egg run. I’ve lost my appetite. 

Oh, and it’s recommended you refrigerate eggs to kill off any germs. That is all. 

2 thoughts on “Egg Run

Leave a Reply

