The Girl Before

A couple of weeks ago somebody messaged me saying I haven’t blogged about books in ages. And they’re right. I’ve been working a lot more than I’d originally intended and certain things have taken a back seat and reading for pleasure has certainly been one of them. I pretty much only ever read in bed and I’ve been falling asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow (sometimes before!). 

But recently I did start reading a bit more. Maybe it’s the evenings staying lighter for longer, maybe I’m just less knackered having finally relaxed into my job (before I was in constant deer-in-the-headlights mode). Either way I’ve read a couple of things recently which feels like a bit of an accomplishment.


The most recent book is a bit of a cheat as I didn’t strictly read it. I downloaded the audio book through Audible for free as a trial and listened to it as I did housework and such. 

It was read by Emilia Fox who seems to be EVERYWHERE at the moment. I’d describe it as The Girl On The Train meets 50 Shades of Grey. This time Mr Grey is Mr Monkford, an emotionally closed off, handsome, wealthy man who has a few secrets he doesn’t want to share – similar much? But that’s probably where the similarities end. There’s plenty of sex but there isn’t a S&M dungeon in sight. 

Like The Girl On The Train and Gone Girl the story is told from different points of view but it’s essentially the story of Jane, a woman recovering from a traumatising experience, who moves into a minimalist house to start again but then starts to fall for the elusive architect who designed it. 

Only to discover she isn’t the first.

I won’t give too much away as you may want to read it for yourself. 

This isn’t a very serious book but if you like a bit of froth and a whodunnit it should be right up your street! There’s already a movie in the pipeline. If Tom Hiddleston isn’t approached to play Monkford it’ll be a travesty.

Intense English architect needed you say?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds like my sort of read – will get on my Kindle right now! Thanks for the recommendation xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

