Lies & Handmaids 

I’ve just finished Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney. 


The story is told by Amber who says “I’ll tell you three things about me… I’m in a coma, my husband doesn’t love me any more and… sometimes I lie”. 

You flit between current time (in a coma) and flashbacks to the months preceding the accident (or was it?) and further back to childhood. 

I would say it’s in the same vein as The Girl Before, Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train… Frankly it’s a miracle it doesn’t have “girl” in the title. 

It’s not that I didn’t enjoy it because I did, and it kept me interested all the way to the end, but I did predict every twist and turn the plot took. I don’t know if it’s incredibly formulaic or just a sign of reading too many of these books!

But hey if you need a book to keep you entertained on a plane or a beach or in a hospital bed – although perhaps scratch that last one(!) – it’s just the ticket! 

But saying that, I feel like I need a bit of a break from that kind of book so am currently reading The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.

I’ve been meaning to read it forever and now they’ve made a new TV series based on it (starring Elisabeth Moss and Joseph Fiennes) I figured I better crack on! 

Now I could talk about totalitarianism or religion or slavery or women’s rights and sound terribly worthy but basically all anybody ever talks about when they mention this book is the sex. 

In this story women of child bearing years are farmed out to married men of high social standing for the purposes of getting pregnant. That’s creepy enough on its own but the really weird thing is the wife holds the woman’s hands whilst the act itself takes place. 

I KNOW RIGHT?! 

I reckon even most polygamists would baulk at that. 

The Handmaid’s Tale, 2017
I’m only about a third of the way through it so far so no spoilers please!

4 thoughts on “Lies & Handmaids 

Leave a Reply

