Strong Annabelle

I have been looking for something to put in a gap at the end of my garden. It’s been bare since we had some of the fence panels replaced. It just wasn’t the time of year you’d want to risk planting something new so it’s been left abandoned and has thus far served as a litter tray for the local cats. 

I am a bit of a hydrangeaaholic so decided to buy two Strong Annabelles.

Strong Annabelle. The woman is not me. I don’t know who she is.
Annabelle has large balls of tightly packed white flowers that then fade to green. The larger the plant, the larger the flower snowballs! Strong Annabelle (Abe Two) is pretty much the same only that it has stronger branches to hold up the weighty flower heads so (hopefully!) won’t need supporting whilst it strengthens and establishes itself. 

They will sit on either side of my garden arch and will hopefully grow to fill the gap and meet each other to give the appearance of one bed full of white flowers. That’s the plan anyway(!) 

I’ve ordered them from crocus as I couldn’t find any Strong Annabelles at any of my local garden centres. They had masses of pink and lilac lace caps but no Annabelles but it is fairly early I suppose and I am just horribly spoilt and impatient.

4 thoughts on “Strong Annabelle

Leave a Reply

