Quebec House

If you’re a regular reader of this blog you’ll know I went to visit Chartwell the other day. On the way home we also stopped in at Quebec House. 

It’s literally a 5 minute drive down the road from Chartwell so it seemed silly not to. 


Whereas Chartwell has a large house and expansive gardens and grounds to walk around, Quebec House is a smaller affair, standing smack bang in the centre of Westerham. 

It was the childhood home of General James Wolfe, who became famous when he lead his forces to victory in The Seven Years War. 

Wolfe died in Quebec during the Battle of the Plains of Abraham after being fatally shot. The painting by Benjamin West depicting his death, rather handily titled The Death of General Wolfe, made the late General famous the world over and was subsequently toasted as “The Conqueror of Quebec!”. 

I’m loving the windswept guy on the right with the hair. 

The house is set up as it would have looked in the 1730’s complete with replica costumes should you wish to dress up. My daughter and I cackled like naughty schoolgirls (well I suppose she is an actual schoolgirl whereas I have absolutely no excuse) whilst trying on various bonnets and capes and ornate dressing gowns. I took a couple of photos for a laugh but I’m pretty certain she’d disown me if I posted them on here. 

The day we were there a NT volunteer, a lovely lady named Ann, was baking in the kitchen using Mrs Wolfe’s original 18th century recipes. 

Here she is! You can tell the stuff she made was tasty – look at all those empty plates!

Lovely Ann even let me steal a recipe so I could share it on my blog. So if you fancy making something a bit different, you could always try Mrs Wolfe’s Gingerbread Cakes! 

Warning! Pretty much everything contained molasses back then and was toe curlingly sweet. 

Quebec House also holds the prestigious title of being the very first house donated to The National Trust. There’s a little exhibition all about Wolfe and his battles *yawn* and a sweet little tea room and shop *yay!* 

Leave a Reply

