The Husband’s Secret

Earlier in the year I was on here raving about the TV drama Big Little Lies (read it here) starring an earth shatteringly attractive cast that included Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman and Alexander Skarsgard. 

Alexander Skarsgard. Enough said.

Well, the one-off drama was based on the book of the same name by Liane Moriarty, an Australian author with a whole host of bestsellers to her name. 

I’d never read any of them before but after being completely obsessed with Big Little Lies I remembered that I’d been given The Husband’s Secret for my birthday from my friend Jo and that it was also in the pile of novels that my sister had loaned me. I always have a stack of books by the bed that I am trying to plough through so seeing as it came so highly recommended I decided it should probably be my next read. 

Sitting in bed I picked it up and read the blurb aloud to my husband who was sitting beside me in true geek heaven doing The Times crossword (we are ALL the sexy let me tell you). 

Cecilia discovers an old envelope in the attic. Written in her husband’s hand it says “To be opened only in the event of my death”.

At this point my husband burst out laughing “If you found that in our loft there is NO CHANCE you wouldn’t read it!” he guffawed. Too bloody right. 

Hooked from the blurb I am now about half way through and it’s an easy read. Like Big Little Lies it features a handful of women, all with their own stories and all somehow linked together. I’m enjoying it! Although there’s a definite lack of the Skarsgard. But I guess you can’t have everything.

2 thoughts on “The Husband’s Secret

Leave a Reply

