The Reluctant Gardener

I’ve always been a reluctant gardener. I was never remotely interested. The last place we lived had a garden the size of a postage stamp and it suited me just fine. The only thing I did was mow the grass occasionally and tend my lone hydrangea (which was the only plant that didn’t die on me). 

When we moved into our current house there was a fair bit that needed doing in the garden. This was mostly maintenance; pulling out dead things, cutting back, weeding etc. I was comfortable with this as it’s basically just tidying up. I planted a few things, some of which worked and some of which died a speedy death. I guess that’s the way it goes. I now have a better understanding of what works where. This steep learning curve means one year on the garden is coming together and also that it feels like my own as I got rid of everything I didn’t like. 

And can you believe it, I actually find myself enjoying the whole process. The girl who hated gardening now visits garden centres, who’d have thought?! But then I always said I’d never get a cat either *deadpan look to camera*.

I follow a great blog called London and IoW. The writer divides her time between her homes in London and the Isle of Wight (the clue was in the name) and talks about her gardens quite a bit. I read her blog daily like some kind of greenfingered stalker! Anyway, she’s ace, go read it, I love it.

In that spirit here are some pics from my garden that I took today. Just call me Kimmy Titmarsh! 

Alliums
Apple Blossom
Ceanothus
Mexican Orange Blossom
Alas this blossom isn’t mine but my neighbour’s but let’s pretend it is.

9 thoughts on “The Reluctant Gardener

  1. My Sisters all love their gardens, but ours is very basic…I do not have green fingers at all. The curly hazel looks beautiful when it’s naked, but it’s got so out of hand! It needs chopping down. Hubby wants to concrete over it so he can put more motorbikes on it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

