Costco.

For those that don’t know, Costco is an American wholesaler. They sell to trade (obviously) but also to members of the public if you meet the requirements for their membership. My father is a retired banker (a job that is on the approved list) and I am an add-on to his membership. 

Costco is probably where I would head if there was some kind of ‘Sean of the Dead’ Zombie Apocalypse type situation. They sell everything. You could survive there for months.

Not only do they sell everything but they also have random extras like a tyre centre, an optician and a cafe… It’s the only place I know where you can go and buy yourself a flatscreen TV, some dog food, new tyres for the car, get your eyes tested and eat lunch all under one roof.

Being a wholesaler the general idea is to stack ’em high and sell it cheap. You are expected to buy in bulk and save money accordingly. This works for me for things like bathroom essentials such as toilet bleach, toothpaste, deodorants, air fresheners… although I don’t have room to store 84 loo rolls at one time. This is where I feel a basement would be better than a loft. 

If I had a basement that I could just run down some stairs to I’d have it kitted out like a survivalist’s bunker in no time! But alas I don’t, I only have a loft and I’m not prepared to climb up there and fight off spiders every time I need to replenish some hand wash.

They sell loads of food and usually have demonstrators at the end of each aisle handing out yummy freebies. As well as the cafe that offers the usual hot dog/pizza fare there’s a fresh food section, a bakery, refrigerated items and a freezer aisle. I wouldn’t advise you buy a catering jar of mayo unless you’re a family of 10 and you’re all mayonnaise addicts as it’s likely to go off before you can finish it. But for store cupboard must-haves like spices, oil, coffee, tea… its super! 

I’m very much the Anti-Hoarder. I like clean lines and spaces. All of this flies out the window when I walk through the doors of Costco. I become obsessed with the money I’m saving in the long run. 

The first time I went I got so carried away when my husband came home he called out “Darling! Why does our house look like Trotters Independent Traders?”. Because it was all a bargain that’s why. But I am a little more savvy now. 

Kind of. 

3 thoughts on “Costco.

Leave a Reply

